2 Years At Mozilla

Exactly 2 years ago today I started work with Mozilla, and it’s been the best two years of my working life! I’ve been thinking for some time when I might say today, in fact have been agonizing over it a little bit. So many other Mozillians have made beautifully eloquent posts about their experience. Working at Mozilla has meant a great deal to me and it’s really changed the way I think about myself, my coworkers and my life in general. So many people have helped me and encouraged to me and I don’t have the words to thank them all.

When I started working at Mozilla it was a bit of a culture shock. I had just spent four years working for healthcare company coming from that to the open-source world of Mozilla took some getting used to. I initially described it as moving from a closed Stalinist country to classical Athens. Mozilla’s openness really does pervade everything our community is at the core of what we do. The entire concept has been a joy to work on and in the next year I hope to extend it further with a bunch of stuff that we’re working on to reengage security contributors.

A special thanks to all the members of the Security Assurance and Security Engineering teams. Everyone has been supportive, helpful and patient with me; as well as teaching me a great deal and giving me a place to grow. I know the future holds many challenges and achievements for us, I can’t wait to get to work on them. Being a part of this community is more than a job, its a purpose that matters!

Posted in Mozilla, Random

Leave a Reply

LinkedIn Profile
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

